You are here

202.2 Oath of Office


Board members are officials of the state.  As a public official, each Board member must pledge to uphold the Iowa and the United States Constitution and carry out the responsibilities of the office to the best of the Board member's ability.

Each newly-elected Board member will take the oath of office prior to any action taken as a school official.  The oath of office shall be taken by each new Board member elected at the annual school election at or before the organizational meeting of the Board.  In the event of an appointment or special election to fill a vacancy, the new Board member shall take the oath of office within ten days of the appointment or election.

Board members elected to offices of the Board shall also take the same oath of office but replacing the office of Board member with the title of the office to which they were elected.

The oath of office shall be administered by the Board secretary and does not need to be given at a Board meeting.  In the event the Board secretary is absent, the oath shall be administered by another Board member.

            "Do you solemnly swear that you will support the Constitution of the United States and the Constitution of the state of Iowa, and that you will faithfully and impartially to the best of your ability discharge the duties of the office of  (naming the office) in the ESTHERVILLE LINCOLN CENTRAL COMMUNITY SCHOOL DISTRICT as now and hereafter required by law?"


Legal Reference:     Iowa Code 277.28; 279.1, .6 (1995).

Cross Reference:     200.1  Organization of the Board of Directors

                                    201     Board of Directors' Elections

                                    202     Board of Directors Members

                                    204     Code of Ethics

                                    206     Board of Directors' Officers


Approved:    11/11/96         Reviewed:     7/00                                       Revised: 1/2020